It is mandatory for every medical college in India to have a Pharmacovigilance committee, as per regulations of Medical Council of India, 2010. Therefore, the Pharmacovigilance committee of Jagannath Gupta Institute of Medical Sciences & Hospital is appointed.


Pharmacovigilance is the science and activities relating to the detection, assessment, understanding and prevention of adverse effects or any other drug related problems. Pharmacovigilance cell functions under the Department of Pharmacology, Jagannath Gupta Institute of Medical Sciences & Hospital, Budge Budge, Kolkata, West Bengal.


The broad goal of the committee will be to generate awareness about the need of identifying and reporting of Adverse Drug Reactions (ADR), amongst all sections of health care providers (doctors, consultants, nurses, pharmacists, post graduates and undergraduate students, service providers etc.) of the Jagannath Gupta Institute of Medical Sciences & Hospital.


To generate awareness about ADRs among health care providers and students.

Tenure of the Committee

July 01, 2017 to June 30, 2020 (three years). The committee shall be reconstituted every three years.

Scope of the Commitee

The committee shall meet once in 3 months. The committee shall be responsible for planning, implementing and monitoring of various activities of the Pharmacovigilance committee. They will also work as mentors and facilitators.


Chairman:The chairman will chair and conduct all meetings and will function as administrative head of the committee.

Convener:The convener shall be responsible for arranging meetings and conducting activities with help of member secretary. He will also chair the meetings in absence of the chairman.

Member Secretary:TThe member secretary will play the pivotal role and shall undertake following activities to help the task of the convener:


i. Prepare agenda of the meetings and send in advance to members

ii. Arrange for the meetings, write minutes, circulate and document the same.

iii. Organize the awareness generation programmes.

iv. Coordinate the ADR collection and reporting to the appropriate authorities.

v. Carry out causality assessment.

vi. Coordinate the research activities.

vii. Raise a library for the committee.

viii. Carry out any other task assigned by the committee.

Members:Members will primarily work as subject experts and will also do the mentoring of young faculty / resident doctors / students in the area of ADR. They will give suggestions for better and effective functioning of the committee and shall work as facilitators.




Sl. No.








1 Prof. (Dr) Suddhodhan Batabayal Chairperson Principal
2 Prof. (Dr.) Soumitra Mukherjee Executive Member Medical Superintendent & Professor, Anaesthesia
3 Prof. (Dr.) Paramita Bhattacharya Paul Executive Member Professor & HOD, Pharmacology
4 Ms. Anita Pradhan Executive Member Deputy Nursing Superintendent
5 Prof. (Dr.) Subhadeep Patra Coordinator Assistant Professor - Pharmacology
6 Prof. (Dr.) Aniruddha Ghosh

Dy. Coordinator

Asssitant Professor, Dermatology
7 Prof. (Dr.) Swapan Sarkar Member

Professor & HOD, General Medicine

8 Prof. (Dr.) Manju Banerjee Member Professor & HOD, General Surgery
9 Prof. (Dr.) Debojyoti Tapadar Member Professor & HOD, Obs & Gynae
10 Prof. (Dr.) Joydeep Das Member Professor & HOD, Paediatrics
11 Prof. (Dr.) Bibhore Sengupta Member Professor & HOD, TB & Chest
12 Prof. (Dr.) Nirmal Kumar Dey Member Professor & HOD, Orthopaedics
13 Prof. (Dr.) Sugandha Garg Member Associate Professor, Pharmacology
14 Prof. (Dr.) Pradipta Das Member Assistant Professor, Pharmacology
15 Mr. Kutub Uddin Member Incharge, Pharmacy

Copyright@2018.All Rights Reserved